Mixed Verbs


Mixed verbs have high and deep vowels in them. Verbs ending in -ít are typical mixed verbs.

It’s the same concept as for nouns:

short i / long í / e / é + deep vowel = deep verb

short i / long í / e / é + high vowel = high verb

Examples in 1st PS:

é, í + deep vowel: szállítok (I transport), csábítok (I seduce)

é, í + high vowel: sérülök (I get hurt),  szédülök (I feel dizzy)

More verbs in -ít: lendítek (I swing), öblítek (I rinse), szakítok (I tear), ásítok (I yawn)

Monosyllabic verbs containing short i or long í are deep-vowel verbs! Examples in 3rd PP:

nyitnak (they open)
szidnak (they scold)
sírnak (they cry)
hívnak (they call)
bírnak (they endure)
nyírnak (they trim)
szívnak (they smoke sg)
híznak (they get fatter)

These rules for mixed verbs are valid for both indefinite and definite conjugation. So mixed verbs are conjugated regularly. It’s just their “highness” or “deepness” that has to be decided upon.

Next time we’ll talk about the 16 irregular verbs in present tense. Bye now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

