Vocabulary – Describing A Person Part 2


Let’s see some verbs you can use to express what you feel about someone.

jól kijön …-val, -vel to get on well with
Jól kijövök a főnökömmel. I’m getting on well with my boss.
Jól kijövök vele. I’m getting on well with him.

kedvel …-t to like
Kedvelem a barátodat. I like your friend.
Kedvelem I like him.
> I like him, but I don’t want anything else from him

tetszik …-nak, -nek to like
Tetszik nekem a barátod. I like your friend.
Tetszik nekem. I like him.
> I like him and I can imagine a relationship with him.

szeret …-t to love
Szeretem a barátodat. I love your friend.
Szeretem. I love him.
> I’m in love with your friend.

Ki nem állhatom. I can’t stand him/her. 

Nem kedvelem a barátodat. I don’t like your friend.

Nem tetszik a barátod. I don’t like your friend.

utál …-t to hate
Utálom a barátodat. I hate your friend.
Utálom I hate him.

gyűlöl …-t to loathe
Gyűlölöm a barátodat. I loathe your friend.
Gyűlölöm. I loathe him.

N O T E!

These verbs require accusative case except the verb tetszik and kijön.

kedvel
szeret
utál
gyűlöl
ki nem állhat
> require accusative case

tetszik > require dative case -nak, nek

kijön > require instrumental case -val, -vel

Leave a Reply

